Tuesday, 18 December 2012

Me Ye Hip Hop at Watch Me Blow

Hey guys,

i know you haven't heard from me in a while but from my rantings on twitter and facebook you might have noticed that i've been busy trying to orchestrate a showcase for me ye hip hop and help organise the show it was to feature in.

yesterday the 17th december 2012 'myhh' featured in the event dubbed 'watch me blow' which was an open platform for up and coming individuals involved in both fashion and music.
Being featured in the show i dont thing i can judge it objectively so i will not be writing a review but instead i just wanted to show you guys what went down backstage (and a little on stage) with my models and give a few shout outs whilst im at it.

first of all i'd like to thank Emma-Ruth for involving me in the show both in the organisation and having my MYHH featured in the show. the experience has been priceless and everyone at IllMechanix appreciates the opportunity. Big thank you also to Essence for performing for us.

Secondly i'd like to thank all my models for participating. i know some of you were arranged on a really short notice simply due to unforseen circumstances but you all managed to do a great job. when i say these girls and boys were professional...they cooperated with the make up and the styling. helped out where they could and even managed to calm me down when i was stressing. simply put they were amazing!
i would love to work with most of them again and would reccommend them to other designers any day. they even put up with me when  was snapping my hands at them (stress makes me a lil more of a bitch than usual nkwasiasem).

Special special thanks also to my PAs for the night Richlove and Sara really made the night more bareable for me from when i had to borrow Sara's shoes so i could give mine to one of the models (its a hard life) they were around getting me contacts and i really appreciate that.

oooh oooh ooooh and a BIG BIG BIG congrats to my little baby georgia who had her (impromptu) debut into the modeling scene last night. the night started with her ironing my t-shirts and ended in her strutting in an amazing gown by one of the other designers. im so proud of her even though shes a traitor lol

above all though i want to thank God for making this a good show (although i almost murdered myself unwillingly, trying to climb a chair and now have a sprained ankle all cz a hot white dude was singing to me about how he didnt need a candles or cake but just my body to make good birthday sex *sigh*)  without him it wouldnt have been possible. i also thank everyone that came especially those wo came specifically for MYHH. thank you lots and lots.

i've put up some pictures for you to enjoy but before hat just to let you know in collaboration with twi teacher we have decided to celebrate our first public appearance by giving away one MYHH shirt. to enter just go to http://twiteacher.com/?p=4204 and follow the instructions...GOOD LUCK xx

me and the crew

;)

one of my PAs, Sara

my model Obi and Sara

my girl Provvi and Obi

Richlove...the other PA










Thursday, 11 October 2012

5 Reasons why we should appreciate friend with benefit situations


Reasons why every girl should have a friend with benefits

1.       THEY KNOW YOU BEST
If you’re anything like me then when you meet someone you really like and are comfortable speaking to it doesn’t take long till the conversation turns to the subject of sex. It might just me that has an unhealthy obsession but considering how sex crazed the world is nowadays I’m pretty sure I’m not the only one. Talking about sex is exciting and informative and with so much new ‘stuff’ out there we tend to talk about it with our friends of the opposite sex to cross reference the appropriateness of our sexual preferences and behaviours. So with this in mind it’s safe to say that sometimes our friends know our sexual preferences even more than our sexual partners. A lot of us (especially us girls) don’t like pointing out our partners’ sexual faults in front of them or feel a little too shy to tell our men to spank us a little harder or kiss us with a little less tongue so wouldn’t it be great to have sex with someone who you’ve already discussed these things with? Someone who has discussed and maybe debated or shared your sexual fantasies coz in all honesty who wants to be telling their boyfriend about the crazy desires they have when they’re tryna uphold their wifey material image. With a friend who happens to bone you every now and again this isn’t an issue.

     YOU'RE COMFORTABLE AROUND THEM
TThis kinda links in to my first point but I just feel I need to explain the magnitude of pleasure that erupts in ones heart when you’re so comfortable with your sexual partner that you are not ashamed to get your fix whether you’re in-between salon visits, are in your tracksuit or have just devoured an entire 13piece bucket of kfc chicken. All these things do not matter when you’re shagging your friend. They probably saw you like this at some point before you started doing each other so they knew what they were getting themselves into. When we girls meet a guy and intend on committing we try very hard to portray this image of perfection and don’t get me wrong, if you want your man to commit and stick to you/stay in love you better come across like your shit don’t stink but if it’s a think where it aint love but you enjoy the person’s company and your body happens give you cravings for spontaneous sex then hey...be yourself. Because in this case you can!

3.       NO NEED TO DEAL WITH JEALOUSY
Granted we all have a basic level of intelligence to even be classed as humans but sometimes the ‘exclusivity clause’ needs to be double explained to some of us.  For example say a guy says to a girl ‘yeah babe, I want to be with you. I really want you to be my girl because I think you’re special’ the words that are actually registering in her head are ‘yeah babe, I want to be with you. I want you to be THE ONLY GIRL IN MY LIFE BECAUSE THERE IS NONE OTHER LIKE YOU’ I guess some might say the difference isn’t that significant but any guy that has ever been with a jealous girl or accused wrongly will know that at some point during an argument the girl will scream something along the lines of ‘why did you tell me you wanted to be with me if you’re gonna be seeing other girls’ this is because to us girls when you tell us you want us exclusively you’re basically telling us that you’re never going to consider any other girls as sexual partners. Unfortunately men don’t always see it that way. In a FWB relationship this doesn’t tend to happen. You can’t go fretting over someone cheating when you’re not in a relationship. Yes there is the common courtesy issue of each party involved letting the other know of any other partners but is more of a health and safety issue (never FWB a guy that has a girlfriend or sleeps with other girls unprotected or sleeps with whores...just saying). When there is less/no jealousy the sex is usually better. You don’t tend to have those pride stricken moments where you’re hungry for a fix but can’t go get it coz you’re angry.

4.       IT'S GREAT FOR THOSE WITH COMMITMENT PHOBIAS
I know it’s not really a solution but come on we all need some lovin every now and then but we don’t all need the hassle that comes with commitment. Some would say relationships aint that bad and the love makes everything ok. Well, from my point of view, love didn’t make me feel better about any of the baby mama drama, cheating, backstabbing and/or loneliness in my past relationships. If anything it made me feel worse thinking about how much I loved the person and they just decided to take my dedication and shit on it. Now the essence of FWBs is that they’re there to be fun. You don’t have to deal with love or betrayal in any other fashion you would deal with it were it to be any other friend you have.
There’s also no need for the regular phone calls, the date nights or meeting the family. As a matter of fact no one needs to know about it and if you’re not one that likes cuddles you can easily just get up after and head home without any hard feelings.

5.       YOUR MILEAD WON'T GO UP
Ok so I have this little thing where I look at the amount of guys a girl has been with like you would look at mileage on a car. The more mileage, the less desirable. Obviously there are a few external factors such as how amazing the cars ‘engine’ is and whether the driver has sentimental attachments to the car but in essence a girl needs to keep her mileage in check.
Problem is (as mentioned before) we still wanna get busy. Sometime people think we’re crazy for wanting to be single coz we can’t get our regular fix no more but what they don’t know is that we can. There two main ways a girl can get her freak on; it is either she just does every dude that catches her eye as and when she pleases or she sets aside a designated individual to do the do with. Personally I think the second option is more appealing. One night stands not only get you around but they are also unsafe. Having a FWB means you can get jiggy widdit as often as you want whilst our mileage only goes up by one.

So these are just a few things I love about the FWB arrangement but don’t get me wrong, it does have its downsides and I should probably point out certain things. As much as i agree that sex should really be between two loving individuals (preferably married) i understand that some of us do have needs we can’t budge and this post is addressed to those.  FWB arrangements are strictly for people who are single and expect to stay so in (at least) the near future. If they’ve got a man/girl or are seeing anyone on a regular please do not get used or heartbroken (or even worse tangled up in a love web) by assuming he/she will leave their partner/potential to be exclusive with you. Firstly exclusivity is not what FWB is about anyway. Though FWBs shouldn’t be sleeping with other people without each other’s consent they are more than free to see other people but you do NOT want to be the side chick/man or be a cheat...it’s not a good look.
Also, if you’re a girl you might find that people might see your preference as slutty behaviour; it’s up to you how you see it. According to some having sex with anyone you’re not in a committed relationship with is whoreish. My biggest argument is usually my mileage theory but I just generally give very little fudge about what ignorant people think of me so it’s all good.
FWB relationships are not the kinda thing you just jump into. Unfortunately, just like usual dating, you need to do some ground work. You can’t just shag someone on a regular and avoid they’re calls during the day and say its coz you’re just FWB...no, that’s a booty call situation. It’s a very different cup of tea. In order to achieve the mutual benefits described above you both need to enjoy each other’s company and at least know each other on a platonic basis. I hate it when some people pretend not to know each other when they are blatantly doing the nasty when no one is looking. You don’t have to tell anyone that you’re doing each other but at least give each other the respect of acknowledging each other in public and do stuff together. The essence of this ish is that you’re friends...it just so happens that you like to screw each other. Always remember to wrap it up too guys ;)

Saturday, 29 September 2012

Introducing the 'Banana-zonto' by Sister Deborah


So I just watched Deborah Vanessa’s video to her song ‘uncle Obama’ *Holds head and snickers in disbelieve*. Don’t get me wrong I totally love it but BOI is that girl crazy. As much as I usually give mixed race Ghanaian celebs extra slack coz they tend to think it’s ok to be mediocre at their trade simply because the majority of the Ghanaian public goes crazy for anything yellow i.e. mangoes, MTN, Van Vicker ... basically everything that if you have too much of, is sure to make you through up with disgust. Surprisingly once I got done hating on her sizzling body I had to admit to myself that she isn’t so bad after all. As a matter of fact she has to be (alongside my husband wanlov who apparently happens to be related to ‘Debbie’ and appears in the vid) one of the coolest GH celebs out there. Not only does she seem to know how to make a dime by making this tune alongside her day job as the host of ‘The late night show’ and being a model but according to her tweets she doesn’t seem to have that spoilt dada bee attitude a lot of these ‘pretty girls’ seem have. All in all, she deserves a feature on my blog, especially so after the airing of her new vid *continues to giggle*

The above mentioned video is not only well produced but also very creative and, if you’re gonna believe me; I should say that it’s actually quite funny.  You can actually watch it below...





To be honest I think I am more infatuated with what Debbie represents more than the art itself. You know when you meet a girl and she’s everything and says everything and does everything you would NEVER dare to do and you just adore her for it because in a weird, twisted and confusing ‘inception’ kinda way you vicariously through her craziness...yeah, that’s Deborah. Mind you I’m still a crazy heffer but never have I even in my craziest dreams, would I dare to make a song about the large banana of a man called uncle Obama so I can just imagine how much more of a muse Deborah must be to the mentally sane portion of females in existence.
I just think it’s really cool how she does and says what she wants and has fun with it whilst making us sexy minded but not quite as sexy bodied girls drool over her splendour just as much, if not even more than the guys. I think my point is (sorry about the uncertainty but I am still laughing about the 1001 innuendos in ‘uncle Obama’) we GH chicks should aim to be more like Debbie. Whether our fantasies are to turn up to events in skin tight cat suits with the back cut out, speak pidgin like we from makola or sing about insinuating songs about a man’s banana all whilst still looking like a piece of red velvet cake with butter cream icing and a cherry on top, we should do that. Inhibitions aren’t sexy...after all ‘les freak, cest chic’. Also i've come to realise since working in a field that involves artistes that as a girl, you're not going nowhere unless you're oozing sex appeal. it might sound sexist but this 'sex sells' thing ain't just talk ladies. You will get no where until you get noticed and in a world still run by men this will happen most easily by representing irresistability and Power...in other words Sex and independence. If you like dont believe me but you just try selling anything whilst looking like you just stepped out of a nollywood movie and come and tell me how that goes for you. i'll be waiting! 

Monday, 17 September 2012

Ghana party in the park '12



So as usual I’m a little bit late on this post simply because I just haven’t gotten the grip on when he weekend ends yet. I tend to try and push it as far as I can but finally Monday has caught up even with the most procastinatious of us...yours truly!
On Saturday the 15th of September (after a long a frankly frustrating wait) akwaaba UK finally decided to hold (what used to be) one of the most looked forward to events of the summer for most of the Ghanaian community in and around greater London. I for one love everything that involves a big group of African people as I can be ‘Ashanti’ I please with little consequence so I decided to go even though there was a last minute venue change but it turned out to be in my favour so I really had no excuse. On top of that it was a good way to promote and advertise some MYHH tees on the prettiest billboard around....MOI! ;)
Being the Africans that we are, my family and I got there quite late and thought there would be a massive queue but we were pleasantly surprised and stood corrected but then again that meant that when we walked in the park looked quite bare compared to the masses that would turn up for party in the park in its early years.
No lie I met a few nice personalities including twitter personality twi teacher (@twi_teacher) who by the way has a new tune out called ‘kraman style’....don’t ask. He’s original like that! You can check him out on twitter under @twi_teacher. Tell him I sent you! I tried getting him to wear a MYHH on stage but apparently that would have messed up the ‘fanshin’ he had on so I let it slide...not forgetting he bribed me with chicken. If you want a Ghanaian girl to stop nagging, give her chicken, will work most of the time. He went on to perform yam and chofi which drove everyone wild and i don’t blame em, i for one have never been one to object to yam and chofi...EVER!
Some of the other artistes that performed included fuse odg with hit tune azonto. I was slightly disappointed he did not perform ‘antenna’ as one of the guys in the epic dance video that’s gone viral in relation to this song was present at the event. Other personalities included tribal man amongst others.
To my amazement I actually ran into two beautiful young ladies who were rocking MYHH shirts and took pictures. The movement is spreading wildly and it ain't stopping. I advice you holla at me for t-shirts before they become essential commodities people.
All in all the entire event was fun and I got to meet some nice people which has always been the point of GPITP...for Ghanaians to socialise with each other. Check out the pictures I took ;)


marshmallow in MYHH paired with short skirt and a blingy belt 


oh yeah...i forot to mention the converses :P


pulling current from twi teacher


pretty girls  rocking MYHH...join the club NOW!

Tuesday, 28 August 2012

THE DAY I BROKE MY CAR-GINITY


Yup I know you're thinking 'WTF is a Car-ginity?' well it's AJ talk for when you've never been to a full blown notting hill carnival before and BOI was I unprepared for the mayhem!

To be honest my bank holiday Monday started off on a sour note. I had planned to go carnival with my younger cousins as an experience and because I had never been before myself but as the time grew nearer and it hit 1pm and I hadn’t taken my shower, things were looking like it was going to be another boring Monday where I allowed my life to pass me by. I had wanted to go out the night before but didn’t so I was slightly annoyed about not getting enjoy my 3day weekend to the fullest until AT LAST at about a little past 3pm I and my entourage were finally ready to hit the streets of notting hill.

We got there about an hour later. Wide eyed and naive we all walked into the parade eagerly trying to catch some of the action...UNTIL THE ACTION CAUGHT US!
The mass of people was ridiculous. There were half naked girls (and to my surprise guys too) as far as the eye could see but trust me when I say I wasn’t complaining (see previous bracketed comment) and the music was on point. Shortly after we got there we discovered the Nigerian parade truck and tagged along besides dozens of other afro beat lovers. As a matter of fact I am pretty sure I was winding to some jmartins when my eye turned and fell upon tiffany (yes, that tiffany). Turns out missy is actually in the UK relatively often and decided to check out the carnival. We didn’t have the chance to small talk in the midst of the noise and massive mob of ravers so we moved on after exchanging pleasantries but not before snapping some pictures. Carnival wasn’t the day to be a groupie or a distributor for that matter. I went to enjoy myself even though I must say I could not resist doing some small advertisement by wearing my own MYHH tee. What better billboard than me eh, it’s not as if I’m not big enough.
We went on to boogie some more to an array of party tunes from both the Caribbean and Africa, displayed some small azonto and even some alanta whilst I was at it...after all you can take the Nigerians away from me but...No, actually I live in London, the Nigerians isn’t going nowhere.

Anyway although I was sexually harassed by several individuals, ground upon by a short Nigerian and ruff looking heat packing yardie and having to wrestle me and my family’s way through the crowds at the end I actually thought it was reasonable fun but I’ll let you be the judge by checking out the pics. Enjoy!

p.s. remember MYHH tees are now available in the UK from me ONLY! Grab yours now as I only have a few left. Check out the tumbler and the face book for more information or contact Joey (@joey_chase) or ask ‘Nas D’Mechanix’ on face book ;)


First thing i see when we enter the carnival route..a ghana flag!


Yours truely rocking my MYHH


Amazing painting of the london marathon...


...and it's artist, rocking Kwame Nkruma.



Parade decorations


Yaa Asantewaa Arts...coordiantors of the caribbean float -_-



'Y3 nyinaa ab) dam w) UK ha, na coat na ya hy3 3gu so'
Those that understand, will understand!


The masses!


Tiffany showing some love


some people too enjoying from the roof tops





talk about SEX appeal lol


ME YE HIP HOP!

Wednesday, 15 August 2012

NEW MUSIC AND VIDEOS

Quick update on whats been going on in the GH music industry.

Many of you may have heard R2bees tune 'odo' already. it's been making tidal waves all across the globe, as a matter of fact, i was walking to the shop the other day and this dude was blasting the tune out of his car.
i must say the car was a bit of a disgrace to the song but, oh well, we cant have it all can we now.
Anyway, i personally like the song. Even though i would be lying if i said it was my favourite tune to come from the west african super stars i can comfortably admit that it's a good song to listen to casually.
The lyrics of the song are quite sweet (for those who dont know 'odo' means love) which i found a bit weird as i'm not used to hearing the boys rap 'romantically', especially Paedae, but in their usual manner, they made it work.
My favourite aspect of this song is the fact that the beat is actually hi-life. it has a real old school vibe to it which i adore. Killbeatz being Killbeatz i think he did a good job on this one. everytime i listen to this i just want to whip out my white hankerchief and sway my hips, salsa style.
there isnt a video to the song yet but you can listen to it on youtube and download the mp3 on http://www.themonteoz.com/2012/08/11/r2bees-odo-mp3-download/.


Ok so that's that but today i've actually got something else up my sleeve too. Turns out Paedae and his clan have been real busy recently because, not long after they made our hearts melt with odo, they've also jsut dropped the video for 'life (walaahi)' and this, i must say, is DEFINITELY a banger. If this song doesn't get worn out on airplay i'll gladly consider myself deaf.
It's these kinda tunes that make the hot girls crush hard on Killbeatz even though you hardly ever get to see him in videos or hear his voice. Although a lot of his beats have similar elements he seems to have mastered the art of making a beat that will by all means necessary make it impossible for you not to want to move. There aren't many GH producersup to his caliber nowadays but i think he knows that.
The video to the song was directed by OJ (@bigojfilms) who's a big name in the industry and has worked with Sarkodie and Stay Jay. due to the passion for his work OJ usually comes out with videos of top quality and this one is no exception although i must say, if i should criticize anything, the concepts and the effects used in the excecution are a bit samey if you look at this video and the videos of the previously mentioned artistes which were directed by OJ but that does not in anyway deduct from the quality of the video in my opinion.
The video starrs the boys and friends, including ToGH entity Nana Yaw Boakye, in different settings, some that didn't look like they were staged. The video has a 'in the life of...' reality show/docu feel to it which i like.
In no way is the video pretentious and totally represents the song and it's title. it's defibitely a masterpiece so without furthe adue i present to you 'life (walaahi)' by R2bees. Don't hesitate to follow them on twitter @R2bees



Monday, 13 August 2012

FOKN BOIS @ HOOTANANNY



So this little review is totally overdue as I saw the event on Friday night but in all honesty, I just had to let the excitement wear off before I wrote anything. After all we want to keep it objective don’t we :P so I start off with saying I am still utterly in infatuation with the Kubolor and gladly accept the groupie title any day any time (the thing about being objective was said out of the depth of a sarcastic mind...it’s my blog so I say what I like *shrugs*). Any man that makes me laugh that much, is that weird, and (oddly) such a gentleman deserves a ride or die groupie lol.

I went to see the boys on Friday the 10th of august as an impromptu night out after realising they were performing at a place called Hootenanny in Brixton. The event was called ‘wormfood’ and the line up consisted of about 4 acts I believe, including a German group that played some REAL controversial stuff, talking about they wish they end up in hell...ok, but you're on your own, mate! I wasn’t surprised that Wanlov and Mensa would perform there as I know hootenanny to embrace any and everything weird and wonderful. The crowd that goes there might not be particularly extensive but they appreciate good music even if it is different and lets me honest there is nothing ‘normal’ about Wanlov and Mensa's most recent, FOKN with ewe, album from which they performed several songs.

The stage set up was minimal, no fancy drapes or lighting, just the average stuff really but the thing I love about hootenanny is the fact that the people make the atmosphere. The last time I was there (to watch a friend perform at an open mic night) the ambiance was very calm, collected and soothing. The audience tends to reflect the acts on display for each night. Considering that the FOKN BOIS and a lot of the other acts relate to a younger (slightly wilder) group of people, this was reflected in the audience a little. Mind you I’m not saying there weren’t some mature guests enjoying the music too and I tell no lie when I say some seemed to enjoy the performance even more than the young folk. In terms of the boys’ get up... just the usual. Mensa was in a casual African-like printed top and shorts whilst Wanlov sported an international outfit that hailed from Nigeria to Senegal to Ghana and a ‘skirt’ that hailed from Kenya I believe. I was slightly tempted but knew better than to lift it up too high whilst I studied the patterns. It was very eye catching and I guess I don’t need to mention the fact that he wasn’t wearing shoes. I actually kept flinching for him as people stepped inches away from his foot with their hard soled shoes but I guess the man is used to it.

Anyway, the performance.  Much to my amusement (they really make you feel like they’re performing just for you, for your individual entertainment) they started off the show with sets of press ups and I must say from what I saw they both don’t seem to be in the worst of shapes. As the excitement grew with their little stunt people that had dissipated away from the stage after the previous act gradually started crowding around again and that’s when the Kubolor introduced them as being most famous in china. You got three guesses for what song they performed after that intro. As a matter of fact they did well to kind of introduce each song they performed and even translated the chorus to sextra terrestrial sex so that the people in the audience that weren’t Ghanaian or didn’t understand twi would not feel left out.

I think my favourite moments from the performance was firstly when they sang ‘we want to be white’ not only do I love that song because of the obvious sarcastic nature which I relate to so well but also because they switched it up a bit by having the band play a hi life style beat. Oh I didn’t mention the live band before did I? I apologize, especially because I think it brought a whole new vibe to the performance. The guy on the guitar who I found out to be Ryan Ansah is actually amazing. I also noticed that the band was very multi cultural as Ansah is part Ghanaian part English, I believe, the drummer looked far eastern and the guy on the key board looked European. It portrayed one of the reasons I love the FOKN BOIS so much ...they want to make good music regardless of where the influences come from and they’ve got messages to put out there that is relevant to everyone. They don’t care if you're white black or yellow, they’re just here to address and confront the bull crap in this world in a way that either makes you love em or hate em, either way you’re bound to listen and laugh at some point. Sextra terrestrial sex was also great simply because of the soulful mellow nature of the song. Only Wanlov and Mensa can talk about acid sweating aliens and make you want to rush home to your man and make babies. It’s actually crazy! I think the highlight for me though was when they performed pinch and had Tawiah (protégé of Mark Ronson) come on stage to put a little vim into it and trust me she did. You can check Tawiah out on YouTube or on twitter (@tawiahmusic).

All in all I had a really great night socialising with these amazing artistes and getting to watch them live for the first time. Below are a few videos and pics of the show and make sure you follow them on twitter if you like them (@foknbois)

Also don’t forget MYHH tees are coming soon and I’ve already got pre-orders so don’t miss out ;) 


Wanlov and Mensa doing press ups

Famous in china



Wanlov and I


FOKN with Mensa 


His feet are bare! its not a lie!


The dynamic duo just before action

Tuesday, 31 July 2012

ME Y3 HIP HOP GOES ABROKYI

Soooooooooooo as some of you may have noticed i have been ranting about this new brand on my fb page. The said brand is called Me Y3 Hip Hop and i am not only hyping because i am a hopeless groupie but also because it happens to be headed by a good friend of mine Joey Chase (@joey_chase) and his partner Nas. They also happen to be the joint masterminds behind Ill Mechanix. On top of this...waaaaaaaiiiittttt ffooooooorrrriiiiiitttttt....i happen to have the honour of being cut in on the deal. As of now you are reading the Blog rantings of the brand sparkling new, exclusive distributor of Me Y3 Hip Hop merchandise in the United Kingdom. Sounds more glamorous than it is coz it basically means i'm going to have to bust my ass to meet sales and marketing targets (blurgh) nevertheless it's an honour to be part of something so groundbreaking, especially as it's all coming out of the motherland.

Here's the official info about the expansion...



ME Y3 HIP HOP GOES ABROAD 

So after a lengthy wait ME Y3 HIP HOP is finally hitting international shores.
ME Y3 HIP HOP has hit Ghana real hard with music industry entities such as EFYA, LADY JAY, VERSE RICO and STONE BWOY being spotted in the iconic original ME Y3 HIP HOP t-shirts in all places from exclusive events to daily studio sessions. Not too long ago modern pioneer in the Ghanaian hip hop scene J TOWN even went as far as to feature a specially designed graphic tee in one of his videos and of course Mr. MEY3HIPHOP, Joey Chase ( @joey_chase , popular name when it comes to anything creative) himself pretty much sleeps and wakes in them. This is how hot these shirts are on the gold coast and thus there’s no wonder that management have decided to expand. 

We want every one, Ghanaian or not, at home or in the Diaspora to get a taste of what it feels to wear a ME Y3 HIP HOP tee with pride. To be able to help raise awareness for the love of hip hop, especially but not only that made in Ghana. ME Y3 HIP HOP is not just about apparel but it’s about a way of life and that is what is being shared... ME Y3 HIP HOP is not just a cool phrase it’s a way of life but obviously it helps when you live looking good. 

The initial campaign will only involve the line of original dual tone printed tee shirts but designs for new products such as fitted caps and printed lighters are in the pipeline and will be available internationally too. 
Tees come in all variations of sizes and are unisex so can be rocked by both girls and guys that feel to put some spice into their wardrobe, it just depends on what colours you go for.  

The international expansion will commence in the UK where the first original ME Y3 HIP HOP tees will be available by Monday the 13th of august. Distribution will be done exclusively by AJ Manu (@marshmallow_AJ) so get at her as soon as possible for info on pre-orders and introductory deals. You can also find more info on the ME Y3 HIP HOP facebook page or by dropping AJ a message.



Anyway from the 13th of august the UK will have access to the original Me Y3 Hip Hop tees but only by contacting me on facebook ( Adjoa AJ-Bliss Manu) or twitter (@marshamallow_AJ), preorders can also be made. There's a facebook page aswell where you can check out the designs and read more about MYHH aswell as follow the tumbler (http://meyehiphop.tumblr.com/).

Make sure you support you support the cause (and my pocket....and your wardrobe) by copping a tee when they drop. i'll be counting down on fb so watch this space honeys ;)

Thursday, 12 July 2012

Man’s war against woman’s best friend


So i was having a discussion with a ‘friend’ the other day and I explained that when I’m married, I would very much appreciate if my husband would gimme some jiggy at least once every day, depending on our schedules and exhaustion levels, of course, and he was oddly surprised.
I’ve always said that once I am married and sex has become more of a bonding mechanism than a filthy measure of lust I am going to make the most of it so I was surprised that my friend didn’t agree. In his opinion, having sex every day is just way to tiring and since he has some kind of personal vendetta against quickies he just hasn’t got the strength to be making marathon length love to his wife every night (or morning/afternoon depending on what you prefer). After vigorous analysis of the situation (i.e. 15 minutes of mouthy banter later) I came to understand his point and decided to make a suggestion to solve the issue at hand; let’s say I was to marry said friend and he didn’t supply me with my required dose of sex as and when due then it wouldn’t be that much of an issue provided I am allowed to put ‘alternative gadgets’ into use.
Before you ask, yes, I do mean a vibrator. I know as a Christian girl its kinda taboo borderline grave sin to own one but in my defence it was a gift from an ex and it was of good use during my mad hatter days. I haven’t used or even seen the thing in years but I’m pretty sure its somewhere amongst the stuff I got in storage so if I was to ever need it it’s there. Problem is my friend (who, I should have mentioned earlier is male and of African descent) almost dislocated his jaw at the fact that I suggested ‘going behind my husband’s back and pleasing myself’. Like really?
So I thought about it in a little bit more depth but still couldn’t justify why any man would be so selfish as to deprive in such an outrageous (and mind you, unnecessary) manner.
After all if you think about it men masturbate all the time. As much as they hate to admit it they do. And I’m pretty sure they still do even when they are married. As a Christian I’m a bit on the fence as to whether masturbation is right or wrong outside of marriage because some would describe it as a form of fornication especially as usually when you’re doing the do you’d have to do some serious imagining and thinking of fornication alone is a sin but is the same the case when you’re married?
At the end of the day if you think about it I am saving my marriage a lot of strain coz God knows I won’t be a happy bunny if I have to take my current deprivation into ‘till death do us part’ so rather than finding me a sexy toy boy who has more stamina than my husband wouldn’t be safer, wiser, less stressful and most importantly less sinful to delve into a little DIY. Wouldn’t it just keep everyone happy? Mind you I understand that talking from this point of view it may look like I put way too much emphasis is on the sexual part of marriage but at the end of the day it is very important. I know I will have other opportunities to spend quality time with my husband and I look forward to them also but at the end of the day when a girl had needs she gots needs!
I wonder whether men feel like you’re undermining their capability or manhood by doing it yourself. I don’t really see it that way though. If you cook someone a meal but they want seconds because the quantity you gave them wasn’t enough, does that take anything away from the quality of the food you gave them? No. Even if they have they have to go somewhere else to quench their surplus hunger with inferior food all that proves is that they’ve got a healthy appetite not tat your food wasn’t good. Same way a woman’s sexual activities aren’t necessarily a reflection of her partner’s ability but more so of her sex drive and every woman is different from the next.
Also, men need to learn to live with repercussions. You lot are always talking about how we girls shouldn’t dress provocatively and not expect to be hit on. Same way you shouldn’t act stupid when your wife pounces on you every other hour if you’ve been walking round the house top less showing off your tout chest and abs and exposing them tight muscley calves and....ooops sorry, got carried away. Anyway my point is that after careful consideration I don’t see why guys should feel threatened by us girls and our little toys.
Oh before I end I just want to tell all those that have been asking; yes, I have noticed that my posts tend to share a little too much info and are sometimes very personal. It’s my blog, I wrote it honey. In my defence (that which I do not find necessary but will give anyway because I happen to be PC like that) I just love to share my experiences. People need to realise that not everything I write about is about me. When I discuss an issue I like to take it from all view points, even the ones that do not apply to me personally. The reason I talk about relationships and sex a lot is because people always seem to ask me for advice on that subject but no one wants to talk about it openly, especially from a church chick’s view point. I just feel like if I make one person out there think twice about absolutely anything then I have done my job. ;)

Tuesday, 26 June 2012

Spiders, taking out the trash and TV licensing: reasons why I can’t stay single forever


So a lot of my friends have probably heard me say at some point that I don’t need a man for anything that I couldn’t care less whether I got married provided I get to have kids...yeah, girlfriends I’m really sorry but ...I LIED! I lied BAD!
On this day the 26th June 2012 I (reluctantly) admit that I (will...probably...in the future) need a man just as much as any other girl, if not more. The clues as to why is pretty much in the title to this post but since I love to talk I may as well explain.

I don’t like spiders. They disgust me. They’ve got eight legs, eight eyes and some of those creepy things can actually jump. Just thinking of em is making me shudder. They are just nasty! What has that got to do with my love life? I’m glad you asked. Well, as mentioned, I do not like the aesthetics of spiders or the fact that they have the capability of crawling in your ears and gnawing at your brain (it may be hear-say but who am I to discredit any sort of gossip), however, these little advocates of the devil seem to insist on setting up camp in my bedroom during summer months. I am all for being at one with nature but there is no way I am spending a night sleeping, knowing full well there is an arachnid in my bed room, hence why I need a man to act as my personal pest control. Preferably he won’t be the kind that’ll find it funny to try and chase me with the corpse of a dead spider because all that will happen is that I’ll end up crying silent tears in a corner whilst trying to rock myself to sleep (yes, THAT is how much spider freak me out) but essentially I just need someone to make em disappear. Any man can get at least an ounce of honour from me just by saving me from spiders, as a matter of fact I would be even better if he also took over the task of risk prevention i.e. making sure that I don’t see, hear or anticipate having to confront a spider. This might include changing the channel when spiders come on TV. Ripping out ‘artistic’ ads from my magazines if they feature any creepy crawlies and/or learning how to fell trees coz I’m not having any growing close to any of the windows in my future home (well, that’s not just coz of the spiders, I refuse to give my future teenage daughter any possible means of vacating her bedroom to attend parties I have forbidden her to attend). So that’s that.

Taking out the trash is a man’s job. I don’t remember when I have ever taken the actual bin out (I don’t mind the recycling) on time and not tried to squeeze in as much as possible just to avoid that nasty stench that meets you when you take of the bin lid *gags* that ish is just vile. I also happen to be a little ocd about pathogens i.e. bacteria, fungi so it is a bit of a hassle to take out the trash out of the bin, wash my hands so I can touch the door knob, take the trash out, walk back in leaving the door ajar, wash my hands again so I can close my front door and then putting a new bag in the bin and washing my hands again for good measure coz I would have had to touch the lid of the bin again. So all in all you must agree with me that having a man to take out the trash just makes more sense. Especially if my life ever jolts out of this stand still and I actually have to be time efficient again in the near future.

Now, TV licence. If you’ve never lived in Britain you won’t get this but our royal majesty (as much as I love her) still seems to turn a blind eye towards the fact that we get billed for watching TV. Oh and it’s not only for watching TV ON a TV but also if you watch live TV on a laptop or smart phone. I think it’s just above £100 a year, I may be wrong but my ignorance is the exact reason as to why I need someone else in my household to deal with that nonsense. Can’t TV just be the one thing I do not associate to a bill? I think I deserve that much.

I’m sure that many girls agree with me on the above points, if you’ve been to uni you’ll most probably have a sour relationship with the TV licence people anyway, but to put jokes aside I have come to realise more and more recently that I am not actually the independent island I always portray to be. As much as I hate having people around me 24/7 and I enjoy my privacy I know that sooner or later, preferably sooner, I will need someone to help me lead this mad life I’m living. I’ve never argued about the fact that I would be perfect right hand (wo)man to any gentleman but I never really think of what they can do for me very much. Other than the obvious materialistic benefits of having a man around I have noticed how much someone’s company alone can improve your quality of life. Being celibate and all I decided not to date completely because I was trying to avoid temptation...trust me its worked. I deleted the number of my booty call and stopped giving out my number to guys even if I knew they were just trying to be friends (we all how that goes) and as much as I’ve got ‘needs’ I guess the thing I miss most is just spending time with someone I really like. I still don’t think I could date anyone unless I know they have made the same commitment towards celibacy as me but at least now I know that I DO need a man like they always say and I know I ain't heartless lol.
Mind you, this won’t keep me from fronting. When my family goes off on one about me getting married first out of my cousins I will reject the notion. I am too used to my image and if anyone dare refer me to this blog post I WILL deny everything said LOL. Just kidding...

Laters x

Friday, 22 June 2012

NO PANTY DAY


Ok so what should I talk about today...oh I know, ‘no panty day’ -_-
First of all can somebody tell me who comes up with these ridiculous ‘holidays’?
I very much suspect uber facts but I’m pretty sure they must be getting the ideas from a particular individual. Twitter has pretty much become the number platform to share any sort of useless rumour and it will spread like wildfire. I guess it goes to show how effective it is. Wonder how many people would retweet and talk about it if I was to tweet ‘Jesus loves you’ though but that’s an issue for another day.
No panty day. LOL. I saw this and just shook my head. Don’t get me wrong I have nothing against people who decide to go ‘commando’ as a matter of fact I support the notion to a certain extend.
I was actually reading this pastor’s message about marital sex and the lack of discussion about this in Christian marriages. The message was as follows:

Sex according to Pastor Agrippa Khathide
Sex according to Pastor Agrippa Khathide  

PASTORKHATHIDE
“A lot of people don’t associate sex with God – they associate it with Satan and darkness, as if sex weren’t holy The Bible is explicit when it comes to sex. Sex is holy within marriage, and there is no prescribed style nowhere in the Bible does it say that the missionary position is the only sexual style.
Not discussing sex in a relationship leads to divorce!!!!!. Pastor Khathide has counselled women who’ve complained: my husband treats me as if I were his brother. There was one who told him: I am tired of getting sex fortnightly, like a salary. Khathide told her she was lucky to be getting sex fortnightly, since some wives only get it on big days, like elections.
Many husbands leave their wives to seek sexual pleasures in Hill brow. Have you ever asked yourself what those wives have that you don’t? Wives have become very frigid and even sleep with their panties. If you’re a married woman, you should sleep naked and let your bum touch your husband.
Today you find men going out of their way to get a glimpse of a vagina. They page through magazines and even go to lingerie departments in stores hoping to see what’s hidden under panties, because their wives hide it from them.
Marriage is about being free with your body in front of your partner.
A woman should parade naked and do some modelling to tempt her husband.
There are many married women who don’t know what their husbands’ penises look like. They only feel it when he enters her. They’ve never touched it, let alone see it, because the husband switches off the lights before undressing. A penis is a wife’s toy – she is supposed to play with it.
He blames couples for not making time for sex and complaining about being tired after a day’s work. You find many couples who’ve been sexually starved for years. God created sex for procreation and also for pleasure. You can’t marry and not have a good time in bed.
WHO SAID YOU CAN ONLY HAVE SEX AT NIGHT?
Why can’t you drive home during lunch and have a quickie with your wife?
We’re all equal in sex – it’s not just about a woman satisfying a man. You have to satisfy each other. Have you ever seen a woman who has been satisfied? Have you noticed how she glows and becomes energetic?
May the Lord Bless you. This is the “Whole Truth,
Nothing but the Truth” so God Help Us from the Beginning”


The phrase ‘I second that’ is an understatement.
I never really get why some Christian women are so frigid and don’t like talking about sex with their husbands. If you’ve actually been a god (as we all should be) then this is the time for you to experiment, live out the naughty little thoughts you had to pray for forgiveness about, only that now, you won’t be judged for it by anyone including Jesus. Sex according to the bible is not just there for the sake of reproduction but also for the enjoyment of both a husband and a wife (your OWN husband/wife I should add...there is no ‘la borrow’ in this matter) so why would you not as a married woman seize the chance to show a little bit of ‘extra flesh’ for your husband today.
I am not saying all women should walk around without their knickers on in public but if you’re not the impulsive kind of woman then this day is the perfect excuse for you to meet you hubby at the door without no draws on... any other clothing is also optional ;)
We actually had a discussion about sex before marriage yesterday at my midweek church service group and trust me I am not implying that people should go out there and expose themselves or put themselves in a vulnerable position. Not saying that at all. I’m just saying that sometimes (although I am not necessarily talking out of experience so don’t hold me to it) having sex with the same person the same way may become a little tedious so I just think we ladies should grab any and every opportunity to make it a little more exciting as long as we do it in the way God intended it and we aren’t sinning in the process. After all eve was naked until she felt she needed to hide her sin under clothes made from leaves. If you can’t go commando for your own hubby then honey I suggest you start telling him what you’re hiding.
I was also told that, apparently tomorrow, The 23rd of June 2012, will consequently be named ‘eat a p***y day’ *sigh*.  Again I can’t hide the fact that married couples need to be taking advantage of these days but really? You had time to sit down and dedicate a whole 24hours to that? Kmt these people need help...urgently!
Personally, I have vowed myself to celibacy until I am married anyway so I won’t be joining in on the ‘festivities’ but I know that even though I am not being promiscuous or encouraging anyone to do so, I am still going to get some criticism for voicing some of my opinions so openly.
All I can really say (not necessarily in my defence because bottomless criticism does not faze me) is that as a Christian I don’t see why I shouldn’t be allowed to talk about sex. Sex is just as much a part of life as pretty much anything else nowadays. We are confronted with it almost everyday.
Don’t people think that it is a better thing for Christian kids to discus sex and thus, get the relevant information they need to know (be it information on the science, emotions or God’s will about sex) rather than us keeping stum?  You how they say that you can’t talk and listen at the same time, it’s true. If we are not allowed to voice our opinions then:
1.                 1.  We will be in the position to listen to all the nonsense that friends and the media will try t teach us which is not appropriate.
2.                  2. If we have distorted perceptions about sex then this will never become apparent. We will live all our lives thinking a certain way about the topic which may be totally false
To me the second point is most concern. I for one had a construed idea of sex for a very long time. I always thought that if I was with a guy and he wanted sex I had to give it to him, it wasn’t something I was to enjoy or utilise as a bonding mechanism. During that entire period I believed that sex wasn’t meant for the woman but just for the man. A way to please him.
That is exactly why I am not a virgin and I am not ashamed to admit it because
1.                      1.     Jesus loves me anyway
2.                       2.     If I hadn’t already tasted the sin and if I didn’t already know how much it took for me to give it up then being celibate wouldn’t be that much of a big deal to me
When I got saved in the summer time last year I promised God I was going to give some things up for him. I didn’t really specify what at the time because I wasn’t sure yet but I eventually started off with my piercings then in November 2011 I gave up sex. I ironically I was in a relationship at the time so it wasn’t great timing on my part but ‘God works in mysterious ways’. I have been celibate for over 7 months and I am actually pretty proud of myself. Trust me it is NOT easy at all! Anyway, my point is that actually I didn’t give up sex for God but for my own good.  I had ended up with such a negative/wrong/unholy view towards sex it was actually NECESSARY for me to give it up in order for me to have a better understanding of God’s purpose for the act.
All in all I guess my point is that the ‘no panty day’ is total bogus but if you can make something good come out of it then hey...YOLO!